Skip to content

The Adoration of Jenna Fox – Review

January 9, 2011

Last week I read The Adoration of Jenna Fox. It’s young adult fiction set in the near-future. The only place I could find it available as an ebook is at Amazon for the Kindle. I actually read it on paper because I picked it up in the airport when I was waiting for my flight.

I enjoyed this book very much. It is about a teenage girl who wakes up after being in a coma for a year. She remembers nothing about her life, and even has to re-learn basic functions like how to speak and walk. Much of the book is about Jenna relearning who she was before the accident that left her in the coma, and finding her identity.

But the book is about much more than that. Jenna can’t remember the accident that left her in a coma, and her parents won’t tell her anything about it. She suspects that there is a lot more that they’re not telling her about, and she starts to piece it together on her own. I won’t give away the big secret, but I will say that I had it mostly figured out immediately when I started reading the book. That’s not important, though.

The book is not fast paced or full of action. It is well written, and I thought it did an excellent job of discussing the issues of self, identity, and also the medical ethics that are central to the big secret that Jenna uncovers about herself.

Personally, I would have liked it if the book was a bit longer. I enjoyed the characters and the plot, and I think there was room for more development of all of it. But, it is a young adult novel, so the length might be best as it is (although Harry Potter books are over 500 pages and plenty of young adults read those just fine).

Overall, the book was suspenseful and engaging. It was an easy read and I read half of it during my two hour flight, and the other half on the way back. Now that I’ve found it on Amazon, I also see that there are more young adult books with similar story lines. They sort of fall under the “dystopian future” category, without being quite so bleak as what you normally think of. The only books I’ve read that were anything near similar were Uglies and Pretties.

I think I will remember this book for a long time. I recommend it.

From → Young Adult

One Comment
  1. great blog – I loved this book. Creative and great characters. You really can’t fault the author in terms of writing a suspenseful text.

Leave a Reply

